Loud Thoughts

Standard

On the winds of the morning, my heart cries
my spirit is restless, my soul is tired
If I were but an eagle souring high and proud
unable to hear my thoughts so loud…

The rain, my tears would hide
while fear of nothing fought with fear of everything so deep inside
Wild and free I would fly
acknowledging nothing and everything as I flew by

No restraints, no confines, none of the things that have me bound
For I would be free…free

But, that is not the case
the truth mocks me to my face
I am a canary in a gilded cage
embittered by circumstances, slowed down with age

Outwardly chirping and singing and oh, so spry
but inside I’m enraged, wishing I could fly

If I were but an eagle,
I would soar so high
I would soar so proud
to keep my thoughts from being so loud
EBB

Leave a Reply

